America's Beautiful Waltz

by CatsMelvin

Track listing: America's Beautiful Waltz, All We Have Is Fear, Deep In My Heart, Do You Mind, Escape In Every Way, Hold Up, It's Magic, Marching On, Whole World Is Smoking, Words

It's been 10 long years since singer/songwriter Michael Amend has put forth an album under his CatsMelvin  moniker. But the wait is over. America's Beautiful Waltz picks up where 2013's Houston left off, with Amend address social and political issues over the top of his musical backdrop. But where Houston took on a more Neil-Young-and-Crazy-Horse electric attack, America's Beautiful Waltz comes at you quite literally with the title track's soothing, delightful ditty written in 3/4 time.

CatsMelvin is politically motivated. Earlier this year his "Machine Gun" release was an effort to bring awareness to the gun violence problem in America. Throughout America's Beautiful Waltz you hear Amend's commentary on politics, society, and the general state of things. "All We Have Is Fear" is bouncy, quirky country two-stepper written with a wry Henley-esque smirk to it. 

"Do You Mind" has a bit of a Booker T and the MGs "Green Onions" vibe, with its Hammond B3 sound. His vocal comes across with a Fred Schneider (The B-52's) approach with tonal lilsts of an annoyed Tom Petty ala "Jammin' Me." There's a nice musical change-up with the deep-pocketed rhythmic groove of "Escape in Every Way"--its guitar solo just so very tasty.

There's a lot to take in with America's Beautiful Waltz. And Amend has a lot to say. The album's release is coming soon. Stay tuned to for details on its release and where all it'll be able to be streamed. And take a gander at @CatsMelvin on Instagram while you're at it. I was suprised to see that there was quite a bit more dog content than the artist's namesake might suggest.

Posted on 8/19/23